Volcano Ash Cancels all Flights to Ireland– Stranded in London

It’s a busy travel month for our family– went to New York in early April, enjoyed San Diego last week, and now we’re on our way to a wedding in Ireland. Boy, do I feel spoiled! Even if we’re stranded in London.

Yes, stranded!

The Iceland Volcano has erupted again, and all flights to Ireland and Scotland were cancelled today. Before we left Los Angeles we called British Airways, as we were afraid this might happen. They assured us not to worry so we went ahead with the trip. Made it to London no problem. And get this: I flew Coach, but Ron and Jenna went Business Class. You see, I happen to think Business Class is a big fat waste of money. What’s the big deal about a bit more leg room? So I stubbornly REFUSED to go Business Class.

Well, I didn’t know that British Airways’ Business Class is like being in a Penthouse in a Vegas Hotel. Here’s Ron and Jenna in their FULLY reclinable seats. Yes, that means FLAT.

Did I mention their menu? They had a choice of Duck Salad with Walnut Vinaigrette, Beef Fillet with Black Truffle Butter, or Pan Roasted Scallops with Saffron Potatoes. In Coach, I didn’t get offered a dinner. But I did get a 6 ounce diet coke.

The water bottle is just to give you a size perspective. British Airways does NOT give out those big water bottles in Coach.

But do I regret my decision to slum it in Coach? Uh, NO WAY! Because with the money I saved us I’m getting myself an iPad 3G! Yes, and it will a GUILT-FREE purchase!!! Take that, my pampered, rested, and well fed husband and daughter!

Sorry, I digress. Our connector flight to Dublin cancelled, so tonight we’re in a London hotel near the airport. Tomorrow morning we’ll try to catch another flight to Dublin so we can get to the church on time! Ron’s longtime employee Ursula is marrying an Irishman, Johnny, on Friday afternoon.

If the flight tomorrow is also cancelled, we’ll just stay in England this week, rent a car, and roam the countryside. It would be a huge bummer to miss Ursula and Johnny’s wedding, but we can’t afford to get stranded in Ireland. Luckily her Mom, Dad, Brother and Aunt made it to Ireland just before the airport closed, so we’re all happy about that.

Hopefully we’ll be able to fly home next Tuesday as planned, and Ron can get back to running his business, and Jenna can get back to school.

Whether we end up in England or Ireland this week I will post pictures when I get a chance. As the Irish Blessing goes,

“May the road rise up to meet you.
May the wind always be at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face,
and rains fall soft upon your fields.”

1 Comment

Filed under Family, iPad, Menu Ideas, Travel, Uncategorized

One response to “Volcano Ash Cancels all Flights to Ireland– Stranded in London

  1. The need for medical language translation has never held it’s place in greater demand.

    Translation derived from one of language to another may
    be difficult. Because sufficient statistical surveys haven’t been done, the complete number
    of people livening in the United States who will be deaf or suffer from hearing
    impairment isn’t known.

Leave a comment